View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 01, 2007, 09:33pm
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
2. If A2 goaltends A1's free throw, it's NOT a technical? That seems weird. Basically from looking at 9.12 Sit B it looks like legalisticly speaking, A can't commit goaltending. "The ball becomes dead when the lane violation occurs and the goaltending is ignored." Interesting.
It's confusing because the Penalty section in rule 9-12-2 says, "If the violation is at a team's own basket, no points can be scored, and the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation. [that's not the confusing part.] See 10-3-10 for additional penalty for goaltending during a free throw." Then 10-3-10 says, "...shall not goaltend during a free-throw" and the penalty is basically a technical foul. It doesn't differentiate between offensive and defensive. The only way to see that distinction clearly is to read the case book.
Reply With Quote