Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy
So - for 2-32-2a (popup) the contact makes it illegal but for 2-32-2f, it's illegal no matter what.
Just so I'm clear a popup slide in and of itself is NOT illegal unless there is contact, right. That being said, does ANY contact AUTOMATICALLY cause the slide to be illegal, regardless of the severity of the contact, similar to sliding not in a straight line to the base, or does the contact severity or altering the play factor into the decision.
Just for my edification - do you happen to have any old case books that reference a popup slide? Unfortunately the 2007 CB only deals with 2-32-2f. Thanks
|
I don't have time to research it but I'm sure its in the archives. I posted earlier this year about this type of play at second and I had found a great piece that Carl Childress has written that covers all of these types of plays with a great explanation.
Its probably going to be under FPSR because that is what his paper was about.
But as I stated above, just because you have contact doesn't make it illegal.
Look up 2-32-1 and the definition of a legal slide. If you do a legal slide and make contact there is no problem with the runner.
Then go to 2-32-2. If you have an illegal slide then you have to call the FPSR to penalize the offense.
That would be the pop up slide - but to be illegal it says pop up slide "into the fielder."
That was a new addition that is still not very clear in the rule books but is in the BRD and other books.
Hope that helps
Thanks
DAvid
Edited to add that I found the thread, its a good read about these type of plays
FEDlandia FPSR