Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkPSkins
It might have been the first time it happened in any game.
Why is this any different than a Runner rounding 2B after being forced out at 2B and continuing on the 3B?
|
Because the ASA rulebook SPECIFICALLY calls this situation out as different from each other.
Why would they do so? My guess - in the sitch of runners running around the basepaths, it is much more likely for fielders to assume that if they see a runner running around out there - that runner is someone they can throw out... but in the D3K sitch, the fielders KNOW that a runner between home and first in this sitch cannot be a valid runner.