View Single Post
  #72 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2007, 01:06pm
mcrowder mcrowder is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
And if I'm the coach I would say she never passed the bag and she never returned. I don't believe you can use that argument to explain your ruling. Its also not the logic ASA is using. They are saying that when the batter-runner reaches first base, she is no longer a batter-runner but a runner and that the double bag no longer exists. Its one big bag. I believe that argument is easier to sell. Not my original position. I still think the runner should be called out. But I'm at the bottom of the food chain so what I think doesn't count. I'll call it like ASA wants it called.
Then say reached instead of passed ... and this IS what ASA is saying - once she reaches it, she's a runner, making the bag one big bag - I was just avoiding (as stated to Dakota) the whole runner vs batter-runner conversation with the coach and instead describing what changed when BR reached the bag.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote