View Single Post
  #71 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 24, 2007, 12:45pm
rwest rwest is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
She did miss it, coach, but once she passed it, the entire bag becomes just one bag - for both her and your fielder. She returned to that bag before your fielder appealed the original miss.

I don't think that would be a hard sell at all - just like any other returning legally to a base before an appeal.
And if I'm the coach I would say she never passed the bag and she never returned. I don't believe you can use that argument to explain your ruling. Its also not the logic ASA is using. They are saying that when the batter-runner reaches first base, she is no longer a batter-runner but a runner and that the double bag no longer exists. Its one big bag. I believe that argument is easier to sell. Not my original position. I still think the runner should be called out. But I'm at the bottom of the food chain so what I think doesn't count. I'll call it like ASA wants it called.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote