Quote:
Originally Posted by Four Seam
Rec League game, I'm spectator standing next to entrance to third base dugout talking to coaches of team on defense. Play at third, ball gets away from third baseman, runner breaks for home and tags plate. Ball rolls into foot of a defensive coach. Blue is right there, calls dead ball and sends runner back to third base. I yell "Oops!" loud enough for Blue to hear. He looks at me, then goes back to position. Am I not right that he got it backwards, that interference or blocked ball by defense, you don't send runners back, you send them forward?
|
Speaking ASA
Depending on the ground rules (some places allow a DC in live ball territory during a game) and depending where the foot is, this may be nothing.
However, during Championship Play, you are correct, this is a blocked ball and runners should be advanced, if appropriate.