View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2007, 09:11am
MNBlue MNBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Obstruction doesn't have to be an instantaneous thing that happens and then ends. OBS in this case may have started while the runner was between 1st and 2nd (not sure if it did - did the runner slow down because of this fielder in her path without the ball?), but say it did. We now have OBS between 1st and 2nd, probably awarding 2nd if necessary. Now the runner is trying to round the bag, and OBS is still happening. WRT her path between where she was and 3rd base ... was she obstructed. I think the answer is a definite yes in the case of a fielder actually standing on 2nd base. I can barely think of an instance where this fielder could not have obstructed the runner's path to 3rd.

You actually see this MUCH more commonly at 1st. Oblivious F3 standing on the bag causes no contact, but forces BR into a wide turn on her way to 2nd --- it was her path to 2nd that was obstructed by this fielder standing on the bag - so protection is at LEAST to 2nd.

But the sitch posted is very similar.
Brain cramp. Forgot the contact on the base. I was picturing something else.

Agree, with the contact on the base. Once achieved, the runner should be protected between the achieved base and the next base.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote