Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl H. Long
R1 reached 2nd base without contact so OBS is not an issue. In any case the runner can only be protected if she runs the bases legally.
A collision has occurred so therefore we can only have 2 things:
1. Malicious contact: R1 declared out and ejected (3-6-18, Penalty; 8-6-14)
2. Interference: R1 out. I mentioned earlier that R1 must run the bases legally. She does not have to slide but if she elects not to she may not cause illegal contact on F6 who is still making a play (ie about to catch a thrown ball from F2 (see 8-6-13).
R1 is out in both cases so the rest of your hypothetical situation is immaterial.
|
You say you have huge amounts of experience, and I'm not trying to offend you ... really I'm not. But the posts here and on other obstruction threads tell me that you really don't get this rule at all.
And even if for some bizarre reason an umpire were to rule no obstruction ... how in the WORLD would you get to interference on this - what play did the runner possibly interfere with?
Incidentally ... the question here is not OBS or no-OBS... it's whether the protection extends to 3rd base. I believe it does. The runner's path between 2nd and 3rd was impeded by the illegal contact. Not sure you would be AWARDING third very often ... but surely the protection extends to 3rd.