Quote:
Originally Posted by canadaump6
SNIPPED
Runners on 2nd and 3rd, 0 out. Batter strikes out, pitch bounces off the catcher's glove and settles about 5 feet away from the catcher, to the first base side of the diamond. The batter, in running to first, touches the ball with his foot, but the ball only moves half a foot if that, and the catcher picks up the ball and throws him out at first. The runner at third comes home on the play, and the runner at 2nd goes to third.
I didn't call anything on this one, as I couldn't think of any rule that would ban it. There was no intent on the part of the runner to interfere, and the catcher was not protected as the ball had bounced away from him.
SNIPPED
|
As long as B1 touched the ball unintentionally, that's nothing. The best thing to do here is to point at the incident, give the "safe sign" and say "That's Nothing!" loud and clear. This lets everyone know that you
did see it and that you are already ruling every thing's alright. It keeps the "Rats" off the "cheese" if you get my drift!
Enjoy
Post corrected to conform with situation.