View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 02:59pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue
True enough. I sit corrected.

I guess the importance of my concern centers around the situation where this may happen with runners on base. It was strike three. If the batter then strikes the ball while runners are advancing, I think we have interfenece. In ASA, we have a rule that tells us the ball is dead; but in NFHS, IF the ball isn't dead on the follow through contact, AND we rule interference, how many outs do we have? The batter should be out because of strike three, but can we also rule interference on a retired runner (although she was never a runner) (8-18), thus calling out the runner closest to home as well?
What do you do in HS if a runner is going and the batter swings at a ball that hits her? I see this as a similar circumstance. In both cases, the catcher has a possible play if she gets the ball. In both cases, the batter does something which keeps the ball from reaching the catcher. In both cases, the ball is dead.

I believe the prudent call would be to just return the runner(s).
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote