Quote:
Originally Posted by varefump
BuggBob is absolutely correct. This would be a strike and dead ball (foul).
Dakota was right with the definitions but his explanations are wrong.
There's nothing in the rulebook of that states the batter has to attempt to hit the ball in order for a pitch to be ruled a strike. What would be the call if a batter swings late (after the catcher has already caught the ball) and the pitch was not in the strike zone? That's a strike in my book.
The NCAA and NFHS made interpretations regarding this exact play a few years ago. The batter can only swing at a pitch one time. Contact with the ball by the bat after the first swing is considered a foul ball.
... it is clear that the ruling on this play is a strike and foul ball.
Hopefully, you naysayers will own up to the fact that you are wrong this time.
|
Hmmmm.... so the first swing is a strike, and the second is a foul ball? Anyone for Bugs Bunny? The first is a nothing. It is not a swing at the pitch, therefore it is nothing more than a goofy practice swing or warm up swing or other preliminary movement of the bat by the batter.
I know you guys WANT this first swing to be something, but it isn't.
Can anyone provide a reference for the NFHS ruling that was done? How many years ago was "a few"? I don't remember anything recent, but I could be wrong.