View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2007, 07:51am
MNBlue MNBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkbjones
In FP, Foul ball. 7-6-k-exception-3.

Hang around and do enough games, you will see this again...but it's always a surprise the first time it happens.
John, I think you mis-read the ruling. ASA 7-6-k-exception-3 states:
The batter is out:
When the batter hits a fair ball with the bat a second time in fair territory:
Exception 3. If contact was made on the follow through, after missing the pitch on the initial swing. Effect: It is a dead ball, strike.

So in the OP, we would have a dead ball, strike, for the third strike and an out.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote