Quote:
Originally Posted by JEL
> Players leave the field<
>Teams line up to shake hands. Home coach argues ruling.<
Timing a bit off, defense has left the field, game over.
|
And that would be relevant if this were an appeal play. It is not. It is a rules interpretaion/misapplication protest. If home coach was continuing a discussion with the umpire on the field, nothing is over until it is over.
The offense was smart enough to know the game situation and react accordingly in spite of the umpire's error, the defense was not.
This is a tough one. If protested and it was upheld, the game resumes at the point at which the error was made. Since you cannot just put the ball on the ground behind the plate, the batter and the box an say, "GO", I'm assuming the "play" with which the game would resume would be the pitch.
BTW, as far as once the umpire calls the batter out, she's out, that just isn't true. An umpire can change a call upon review of the information available.