View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2007, 01:40pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by With_Two_Flakes
NCAA Rules.

Team A are behind 7-12. They score a TD as time expires in the 4th quarter to go ahead 13-12. Are they allowed to take the PAT attempt?

Rule 8-3-2-a states:-


I assume it is the intent of the NCAA Rules Ctte to prevent a despondent Team B (who were, in my example, only seconds away from a 7-12 victory) from having one last chance for some payback at Team A during the PAT? The key phrase is "unless the point(s) would affect the outcome of the game.", how are we meant to interpret this?

I think we would all agree that if the score was 15-12, or 9-12, then the points cannot affect the outcome, and so no PAT is allowed.

I think we would all agree that if the score was 10-12, 11-12, 12-12, then the PAT would be allowed as Team A have a chance to tie or win.

The "grey area" is whether not allowing the PAT when the score is 13-12 or 14-12 is preventing Team B having the (slim) opportunity to tie or win.

Whilst it is unlikely, but possible that an botched PAT might be run back 97yds for 2 points by Team B to win 14-13, I'd guess that every coach in the World would have Team A take-a-knee. Surely it is this possibility of Team B fouling Team A during a take-a-knee play that the Rules Ctte want to remove??

Thoughts please......
I don't know US rules (I'm Canadian), but if B can score on a convert attempt, you must allow the convert to happen!
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote