View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 11, 2007, 10:52am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy
The bat hitting the ball in and of itself is not automatically INT if it does not actually interfere with a fielder's ability to make a play.

From 7-3-6

ART. 6... If the bat breaks and is hit by the ball or hits a runner or a fielder, no interference shall be called. If a whole bat is thrown and interferes with a defensive player attempting a play, interference will be called.

You as umpire have to judge that there was in fact INT.
1) Canadaump6 uses OBR, not FED.

2) The rule you reference refers to a bat "interfering" with a fielder. The play involves a bat "interfereing" with a ball. Different rule.

3) What seems to matter in FED is intent, although there's some controversy. See 2.5.1E (which would have this as a fair ball) and 8.4.1A (which would have this as an out -- but may be opnly because B1 was still holding the bat).
Reply With Quote