Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by mook11
					
				 If I am the OC, I immediately protest the out call.  It doesn't matter if the call is correct or not, the second the hand is put out, my runner is protected.
 I know this was a bang, bang play but as soon as I know what the call is, I know where my runner is safe and where s(he) is not.  Once you have given "safe passage" you cannot retroactively take it away.
 | 
	
 Not sure you'd win a protest based on a hand signal given by the off official which your runner could not have been able to react to...  You may win a protest based on umpire protocol and who is allowed (by rule) to overrule whom ... but it would be a very tough one to win.
The signal ... by the way ... does not mean "obstruction".  The signal merely means that the umpire has a delayed dead ball.