What was this umpire thinking?
Heard this happen on a field at a tournament I was working:
R2, outs not important. Batter hits one to the right of F6. F6 deliberately kicked the ball to F5, who fields the ball behind third base. R2 rounds third and is thrown out at home. Umpire rules that F6 "committed an illegal act" and awards R2 home.
Defensive coach wasn't happy and thought about protesting, but he didn't.
Comments?
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
|