View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 05, 2007, 06:52pm
UmpJM UmpJM is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoomerSooner
You are almost completely correct Coach. The last pitcher of the game should be credited with a save. Since by rule a pitcher cannot be credited with a win and a save in the same game, the starting and finishing pitcher cannot get the win.
BoomerSooner,

I stand corrected. Nice catch.

UmpDuck,

No. Under FED rules, the starting pitcher must pitch at least 4 innings to be credited with the win. Since the "go ahead" run was scored while the starting pitcher was the pitcher of record, and he only pitched one inning, he cannot be credited with the win.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote