
Thu May 03, 2007, 10:34am
|
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Dakota
I've stated my view on this clearly and see no need to rehash in response to the rehashes. However, I do want to address a couple of points:
1) If the BR touches the white base when she should have used the orange, it is treated exactly the same as a missed base. Exactly the same.
2) Once the BR has achieved 1B, it is one base. One base. Touching either is the same. There is not a white or orange side anymore.
3) Ruling on this situation as I have stated does not COMPLETELY negate the rule. That is clear hyperbole, rwest. In fact, the situation described here is rare. The vast majority of the time where the BR touching white when she should touch orange is an overrun (run through) of first base where this little debate is obviously completely moot, and where the rule does apply.
4) I have stated several times already that I am open to an ASA interp that disagrees with my application here, and since Mike posted the OP, I suspect such an interp may exist. If so, I hope he posts it once he tires of reading the ruckus he started.
5) However, what I am NOTopen to, which several of you are not only open to be stating as your preferred applicaiton on the field, is to say the ruling should be to honor the appeal, but you will make up a mythical touch of the orange because you disagree with the ruling. That, my friends, is just plain dishonest umpiring.
|
My thougts exactly.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
|