View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 02, 2007, 08:53pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Well, without citing specific rules, we can still have a quality discussion. It is obviously a blocked ball; we have to decide if it interference, or simply blocked and dead ball.

This becomes a judgment; was there a play that the defense had that was hindered by the act? Without a play, that is hindered, there can't be an interference call, by the definition of interference. In this case, the runner (IMO) saved his dumb teammate by not running, in that he took away any play the defense might have made. Unless you are ready to determine that the catcher was ready to pick that runner off 2B, it is reasonable to accept a blocked ball without penalty. If the runner continued, and there was any chance in he!! the catcher has a play, it must be interference.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote