View Single Post
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 02, 2007, 07:10pm
rwest rwest is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Hold on a second here. First ... it IS a missed base. In touching the wrong portion of the base, they essentially ran past the base without touching anything they were allowed to touch.
No, it's not. The white and orange are treated as separate bags until the runner has reached the base. Then it is one big bag. That is even how they worded it in the rules clinic/camp I attended last year.

Quote:
Second - in a sitch where BR runs PAST the base, they missed, as you say, the orange part of the base. HOWEVER... where do they have to return to fix it? EITHER part - not just the orange part. If they return to the white part of the bag, they have corrected their miss.
Correct, they can RETURN to either the orange or white once they've reached first base. Once they reach first base it is treated as one big base. But they didn't return. They stayed on the portion of the base that the were not allowed to touch.

Quote:
I would submit that in a case where BR goes to the wrong base but immediately stops on the white portion, they have simply immediately corrected their error.
The wrong base and the white portion are one and the same. They have not corrected anything. They have not done anything but continue to violate the rule. They went to the wrong part of the base and did nothing to correct it. By your interpretation the following has occurred:

1. The runner is allowed to violate the rule and not make any attempt to correct their mistake. As in your missing base analogy, the base they missed is the orange. They've not returned to the missed base.

2. You don't allow the defense a chance to appeal.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote