Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
First off all this is not an appeal for missing a base. This is an appeal for touching the wrong portion of the base. However, lets assume that it is. What base did they miss? The orange part of first base. What part is the batter-runner standing on in the OP? The white portion. So using the aforementioned logic, they are not standing on the base they missed.
|
Hold on a second here. First ... it IS a missed base. In touching the wrong portion of the base, they essentially ran past the base without touching anything they were allowed to touch.
Second - in a sitch where BR runs PAST the base, they missed, as you say, the orange part of the base. HOWEVER... where do they have to return to fix it? EITHER part - not just the orange part. If they return to the white part of the bag, they have corrected their miss.
I would submit that in a case where BR goes to the wrong base but immediately stops on the white portion, they have simply immediately corrected their error.
Also consider the reason for the separate portions - safety... to prevent a collision. So even the intent of the rule is satisfied by a BR who stops immediately on the white part of the bag. The separate halves are not intended as a "Gotcha" - they are intended to prevent collisions.