Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
If the runner did overrun, when would the interval end?
When the runner touched the white portion of the bag.
So why would you rule differently in the OP, and end the interval potentially tens of seconds later?
|
If you don't honor the appeal when the runner runs to and stops on the white portion of the base, without touching the orange, then you have negated the rule. You are allowing the runner to touch the white portion only and preventing the defense from getting the out on an appeal. The runner did nothing to correct their mistake. Do you allow the defense 10 seconds to get an appeal on a missed base or one left too soon? Sure you do because the rules allow it. They have until the next pitch. Or the runner has to return to the base missed or left too soon before the appeal. In other words they have to correct their mistake.
The rule states an obvious end to the appeal interval. They haven't returned to the base due to the fact that, as others have mentioned, they never left the base. But that doesn't negate the infraction. The returning to the base is just the end of the appeal.
Edited to add one final comment.
To answer your question, the appeal would end when the runner "returned to the base", not when he is touching it. If we are going to literally interpret the rule, then we must use the words that the rule book uses. It doesn't say the appeal ends when the runner is touching the base, but when they return.