View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 02, 2007, 12:54pm
rwest rwest is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
I believe I have an out

The rule simply states that if the runner only touches the white portion of first base and there is a play from fair territory, the runner can be called out on appeal. The rule does not state that the batter-runner has to overrun the bag.

The rule then goes on to give us a time interval for honoring this appeal. The interval ends when the runner returns to the base. The beginning of the interval is implied to be the time the runner touched only the white portion of the base.

So you have to separate the rule infraction from the interval for honoring the appeal. The infraction is touching only the white portion when a play is made at first base from fair territory. The interval is from the time of the infraction to the runner returning to the base.

In the OP, the infraction is obvious. The interval, based on my interpreation, is obvious, too. I say the interval started the moment the infraction occurred but since the runner never left the base, the only way to terminate the interval is by the next pitch (legal/illegal).

If they appeal before then, I've got an out.

Any holes in my interpretation?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote