I'm with you, mccrowder. I understand the literal rule reading here, and I am generally inclined to go that way unless or until there is an official interpretation, but I do not see how you can rule a runner out on appeal for missing the base she is standing on at the time. I know the safety base rule and all that, but there she is, plain as day, standing on the base she is obligated to return to after missing the base she was supposed to touch.
Barring a ruling from ASA (or whoever), this is safe.
__________________
Tom
|