I don't see how you can call this runner out. Consider the normal scenario - BR hits white bag and runs through. Fielder immediately gets ball, touches bag, looks to BU and says, "Appeal, she hit the wrong bag." Assuming this appeal occurred before BR returns to EITHER part of the bag, she's out. I think we agree on that.
In this sitch, BR hits white bag and stops. Fielder immediately gets the ball, touches bag, looks to BU and says the same thing. I don't see how you could call this appeal out - as the BR is already on the base she would normally have to return to.
To those advocating the out ... what if the appeal was 2 seconds later? 4 seconds? 15 seconds? Where's the line? What if the ball was caught by F3, thrown elsewhere for a play, thrown to F1, then thrown back to F3 and then they appeal. You still have an out? If so ... really?!?!! If not ... since BR has done nothing different here than in the original sitch, why the different call?
And also, to those advocating the out - what exactly would you say BR can do, if she (or basecoach) realizes the mistake before the fielders to, to fix the appeal. Does she have to step off and then back on? If so ... will you allow her to do this if the ball is in the circle?
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
|