Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
Game is under NFHS rules
Player A2 steals the ball from B1 in B's baclcourt and heads to the rim for a lay up - B1 truns and bolts after A2 and can not get to the layup and while the ball is on the cylinder B1 slaps the backboard, below the rim, hard enough to visibly vibrate the board and the ball does not go in.
please make your call and back it up with rules
feel free to add NCAA also.
|
NFHS
Rule 10 Fouls and Penalties
SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL
A player shall not:
ART. 5 . . . Illegally contact the backboard/ring by:
a. Placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.
b. Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.
PENALTY: (Section 3) Two free throws plus ball for division-line throw-in.
NCAA
RULE 10 Fouls and Penalties
Section 3. Indirect Technical Fouls
Art. 15.
Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing either the backboard or ring to vibrate while the ball is in flight during a try, or while the ball is touching the backboard, is on the basket ring, in the basket net or the cylinder.
Section 4. Penalty for Indirect Technical Fouls
Art. 1. The penalty for an indirect technical foul shall be two free throws awarded to a player of the offended team. The ball shall be put back in play at the point of interruption.
...
Art. 2. Indirect technical fouls shall count neither toward a player's five fouls for disqualification nor toward the team-foul total.
Besides the penalties, there is a small difference in the wording as the NCAA rule includes "on the basket ring" and the NFHS rule only mentions the ball being "in the cylinder above the basket." Of course, this is not important because whenever a ball is on the basket ring, it is in the cylinder. So anyone who would argue that NFHS rule doesn't cover this situation is incorrect.