View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 09:20pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlitzkriegBob
R1 on 3B, outs not important, left handed batter, I'm BU. There is a pitch in the dirt, blocked by F2, that rolls a few feet to her right. R1 breaks for home as F2 starts after the ball, which has rolled behind the batter. The batter backs away from the plate and in doing so slightly kicks the ball with her heel. The ball rolls a few feet further away from F2, giving R1 time to safely reach home (close play but obviously safe). Maybe this is a HTBT, but my questions are:
  1. Would you call interference on this play?
  2. Would you call interference on this play as the BU?
Speaking ASA

This is INT, old or new rules, makes no difference. As the BU, I would only call it if I believe my partner did not see the kick due to his/her vision being blocked by the catcher or batter, or not even looking at the time.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote