View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 25, 2007, 06:41am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer
Count is 2 2 with bases loaded. Pitcher pitches next pitch and PU awards batter 1st base thinking it is ball 4. Meanwhile runner on 3rd advances home and scores as well as other runners to next base. Coach calls time and has conference with PU explaining that it was only a full count. FU comes in and adds his 2 cents. He makes batter come back to bat and awards the runner on 3rd home and other runners to next base. He says that runners can advance on live ball regardless if error is caused by the umpires...... Is he right?????
Depends. Did the batter take off toward 1B without being prompted by the umpire, or did the PU actually indicate is was "ball four" and award the batter 1B?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote