View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 24, 2007, 02:54pm
JefferMC JefferMC is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
The Umpire is always right.

Except when he makes a mistake. Like forgetting the count. Or worse, applying a rule when it doesn't apply.

I don't think you're going to find a rule to cover this situation, because the rules assume that the umpires are inhumanly perfect. If the umpire called Ball Four and/or indicated (by pointing to 1B or whatever errant signal) the award of 1B, then the defense was told that they couldn't make a play on the advancing runners and the fact that the ball was live is irrelevant until they reached the awarded base.

You just gotta' put them back.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote