View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 10, 2002, 09:55am
whiskers_ump whiskers_ump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally posted by Roger Greene
Fed casebook play 1.1.7A states that the pitcher and a player without a mask "may play catch". It doesn't state that they have to throw overhand. The NC Supervisior of Officials has interpertated that to mean that a person is warming up a pitcher when they are in a crouch. They are playing catch when both are standing erect.

Roger Greene
Roger,
The way that situation is written, it is saying the team
does not have a mask with a proper throat protector and
cannot procure a throat protector from visiting team. Now,
my question is how is this coaches' team going to play this
game? They going to play "catch" the whole game. Funning
nautrually.

I understand what they are getting at in the case book situation.
Warming up another pitcher while game is going on. Great, and to be
honest, I rarely see a relief pitcher and catcher warming up during the game.
Unless of course they have to be on the field down one of
the foul lines and then she will be wearing that mask and
have a spotter.
However, when I arrive at a park, inside confines of field
and that pitcher/catcher team are warming up, that catcher
better have the mask on and I am fully covered by rule to
insure that she wears that mask. They will always either
put the mask on or stop warming up. That is their choice.

glen

__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote