View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 17, 2007, 01:17pm
SanDiegoSteve SanDiegoSteve is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
Where do you get he if he has control of the baseball in his bare hand on the ground it is an out. Section 2-9-1 Note: When a batted or thrown ball is involved, the above definition of a catch applies. For any other thrown ball, the term is used loosely to apply to a pick up or to the trapping of low throw which has touched the ground. A fielder may have the ball in his grasp even though it is touching the ground while in his glove.

The case book doesn't give any plays where the ball touching the ground while in the fielder's hand is an out.

ST
Very poorly worded note in 2-9-1, like many FED rules. There should be no distinction between a ball in hand or glove. They are both equal. Control is control.

As far as what lawump has said, I have seen on several occasions the ball trapped (in control) with the bare hand and the ball touching the ground in MLB games, and have always seen it called, OUT.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote