Quote:
Originally Posted by rulesmaven
Yes, sorry should have described the play better -- 3's foot was on the bag. He did not catch the original throw but knocked it down, kept his foot on the bag, bent at the waist and attempted to pick up the ball with his hand, but fumbled it, and then instead of trying again, just closed his hand on the ball, while it was still on the ground next to the bag, just before the runner touched the base. He stayed there just like that for a second or two getting his balance, then lifted the ball in the hand without dropping it.
|
You said he picked the ball up with no problem so you could rule it a catch by rule. This is an umpires judgement call as to whether he secured possession before the runner hit the bag.
The rules do talk about having the ball in the glove and touching the ground being a catch, and it could also apply to the bare hand.
I edited to add that in Carl's BRD it confirms that J/R states " a ball is "gloved" when a fielder gains possession of the ball in his hand or glove."
Bottom line is the umpire has to decide did he have control or not and make the call. The rules seem to give a little latitude on this play.
Thanks
David