View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 17, 2007, 09:48am
Eastshire Eastshire is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
You mean this one.

2.9.1 SITUATION B: B1 hits a ground ball to F6 who throws to first. F3 juggles the ball so that rolls up his arm and is clamped to his body by an elbow or forearm when B1 touches first. RULING: B1 is safe. It is not a catch until the ball is secured by the bare and or glove hand.

I don't think the plays correlate. This would apply more to the original post.

2.9.1 SITUATION A: B1 hits a ground ball to F5. The throw to F3 is wide causing him to stretch for the catch. The ball arrives in time, but as F3 attempts to regain his balance, he drops the ball. Is the runner out? RULING: Attempts to regain balance after receiving the ball are considered a part of the act of catching; and if the fielder does not come up with the ball in his possession, it is not considered a catch. In all cases, judgment is a factor. If the ball is clearly in the fielder's possession and if some new movement not related to the catch is then made, and if the ball is fumbled during such new movement, the umpire will declare it a catch followed by a fumble.

ST
As neither of those involve the ball being in a bare hand and touching the ground, no, I don't mean either of those. Neither of those plays involve a grasped ball in a bare hand touching the ground and aren't relevant.
Reply With Quote