View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 16, 2007, 09:07pm
SAump SAump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
[quote=Rich Ives]In the grapefruit squeeze, the out WAS called for interference. Runners return to the base legally touched AT THE TIME OF THE INTERFERENCE. In this case at that time they had scored. Runs score.

Rich,

I believe in OBR, a new rule change was added this year.

Rule 2.00 (Interference) Comment: In the event the batter-runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch.

The way I am envisioning the play, B/R is hit with a thrown ball while interfereing with a fielder's attempt to make a play. It seems according to the rules above, batter is guilty of interference and should be called out. Could you please cite the rule that exempts all runners whom have already scored?

Thanks.

SAump, aka Not Alwaysright
Reply With Quote