View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 16, 2007, 06:48pm
Always Wright Always Wright is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Always Wright
[QUOTE=Rich Ives]In the lemon squeeze, R3 had already scored at the time the ball hit him so he's safe. The ball touched a player while over fair territory so it's fair. You don't call anyting on plate-tangles so if F2 tagged the B-R he's out.

Rich,

What rules are you talking about? I believe in OBR, R3 would be out and BR awarded first base.

7.09 "It is interference by a batter or a runner when -
(k) A fair ball touches him over fair territory..."
2.00 Definitions "A runner is an offensive player who is advancing to, or touching, or returning to any base."

The way I am envisioning the play, R3 is hit with a fair ball while advancing to or touching home plate. It seems according to the rules above, R3 is guilty of interference and should be called out. Could you please cite the rule that exempts him from this call because he has already scored?

Thanks.

Chris Wright
Reply With Quote