View Single Post
  #75 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 06, 2002, 03:20pm
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally posted by DrakeM
Mark,
It was a "borderline" taunting call that could have been
handled with a "kind word" or two said to the player.


Then why didn't you do that? If it was worthy of a T, call it. If not, then don't. You can't be "half pregnant". Calling it a "borderline" taunt implies to me that you really weren't sure if you should call it or not - but the fact remains that it must have been bad enough that you did.

He really did not deserve to be thrown out of the game for it. If this would have been his first T, ok. But not
worthy of a second T.


A T is a T if deserved. The fact he already had one is irrelevant. You're right when you say he didn't deserve to be thrown out of the game for this, but he does deserve to be thrown out of the game for getting two, which he did. That's why technical fouls that are not flagrant are cumulative. After all, it's his behavior and actions that are what determine what happens to him.

Notice I'm not addressing the issue of indirect vs. direct under NCAA rules because that's not the point of your post.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote