View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 12, 2007, 12:58pm
Jerry Jerry is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 286
Archangel:
There are a couple of rules and guidance documents, at least in OBR and possibly in FED as well. "If a ball strikes a piece of equipment that is on LBT (usually the lip or top step of a dugout), and such ball would have entered DBT absent the contact with such equipment, then the ball is considered to have entered DBT." (OBR)

"If equipment left lying on LBT alters a play in favor of the offending team, the umpires are authorized to nullify the advantage by awarding bases, declaring outs, returning runners, etc." (FED)

Jerry
Reply With Quote