View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2007, 03:49pm
scarolinablue scarolinablue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy
Don't read more into the post than what is written. As soon as F1 removes his foot from the rubber, he becomes a fielder and the throw home becomes a legitimate play at HP on R3. The only ruling in this situation is interference on the part of the batter.

Depending on the number of outs either batter or runner are out.
I disagree. If the motion by the pitcher resembles his normal pitching motion, even if he's stepped off the rubber, he could be called for a balk. If he was in the set position, stepped off, and then lifted his non-pivot foot similar to his normal delivery, this could confuse the batter, who would then be justified in swinging at the "pitch".

Otherwise, as you've said above...interference on the batter. Guess you'd HTBT in the OP sitch.
Reply With Quote