Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
Caution.
If he legally stepped off it MAY br OK.
But if his motion makes it look like a pitch he may have violated
8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when --
(g) The pitcher makes any motion naturally associated with his pitch while he is not touching the pitcher’s plate;
|
Don't read more into the post than what is written. As soon as F1 removes his foot from the rubber, he becomes a fielder and the throw home becomes a legitimate play at HP on R3. The only ruling in this situation is interference on the part of the batter.
Depending on the number of outs either batter or runner are out.