Sent me to the rule book, so I'll post this: 
	Quote:
	
	
		| 
			
				9-2-11 Penalty 4: If an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the throw-in boundary-line plane and fouls the thrower, an intentional personal foul shall be charged to the offender.  No warning for delay required.
			
		 | 
	
	
 What first confused me is remembering that if the defender reaches across the plane and touches the ball while still in possession of the thrower it is a technical foul... unexpected that contacting the thrower would be an intentional foul while contacting the ball would be a technical: 
	Quote:
	
	
		| 
			
				9-2-11 Penalty 3: If an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the throw-in boundary-line place and touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line (as in 7-5-7), a technical foul shall be charged to the offender.  No warning for delay required.  See 10-3-11 Penalry.
			
		 | 
	
	
 [edited for "Penality"!?!]