Thread: Altered bat
View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 27, 2007, 12:02pm
jimpiano jimpiano is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 747
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
In ASA, if Abel gets a hit with an illegal bat and then Baker steps into the box with the same bat, and the umpire becomes aware of the violation before the next pitch, Abel is out and Baker has to get another bat.

However, the book does not say what to do if Baker steps into the box with a different illegal bat.

What if the defense calls attention to Baker's illegal bat, and after you finish dealing with Baker, you discover that Abel's bat was also illegal? No pitch was thrown. Are they both out?

[Ha! I see that I asked a similar question 5 years ago.]
Rule 7-6,c would cover Baker and he would be called out.

Once Baker is called out we move on to Charles.

At this point how could anyone prove Abel used an altered/illegal bat,anyway?
If the defense provides the bat they allege was used by Abel and it is determined to be altered/illegal the bat will be removed from the game.
Reply With Quote