Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
I agree that if a retired runner or one who has scored interferes then we get the runner closest to home out. However, this is not the case here. There are two points I'd like to make.
1.) The batter was not put out. The batter became a batter runner on the drop third strike and had to be put out by a tag or a throw to first base. Therefore we don't have a retired runner.
2.) The batter-runner was not the one that caused the interference. It was the on-deck batter.
So if R1 was on 2nd when this occured, I would call dead ball, batter runner out due to interference by the on-deck batter and return the R1 to 2nd.
Anyone disagree? If so, can you provide a rule reference please?
Thanks!
|
Already referenced. ASA 7-1.D EFFECT 1. The runner closest to home is out when interference is caused by the on-deck batter.
The general rules of thumb still apply. The person who creates interference is out, whenever that is possible. If that person can't be out (already out, is a coach, other offensive team member, or on-deck batter), then the runner closest to home is out.