Quote:
Originally Posted by jontheref
It looks like I may be the only one who believes that the offensive player has started to leave his feet when the guy sets himself. I got a block, but I am selling it like an SOB to anyone who wants to know. Its a toughy though
|
Jon:
I do not have a problem per se if one official sees a block and one sees a charge on a bang-bang play like the one in posted in this thread. The discussion in this thread is how to apply the guarding and screening rules. Old School thinks that he does not have to apply the rules correctly; he wants to apply the rules the way he wants to apply the rules any way he sees fits.
With regard to how you viewed the play. This is a difference between a player starting to leave his feet and a player has already left his feet. Either a player is airborne or not airborne. If the offensive player is not airborne when the defensive player obtained/established a LGP then the contact has to be a charge.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|