View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 22, 2007, 01:36pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by sargee7
a) "in the on deck circle" Wow that was a lousy throw by the catcher, the on-deck circle is a pretty good distance from the home-plate area. I got nothing, the cathcer doesn't catch the pitch, I'm not going to punish the offense unless something is done intentionally to interfere with the throw.

b) depending on how close the on-deck batter was to HP, I would do the same thing as above. If she walked in bewtween the catcher and the throw, perhaps, but, I will still not punish the offense for a mistake the defense made.
Unfortunately for you, there is no rules basis in any level of softball to support your position. It doesn't matter at all that the catcher didn't catch the pitch, nor that you judge it a good distance. Your only options under the rules are 1) call interference in both (a) and (b), since that is what the rule states, or 2) justify not calling interference under the rules (meaning, there was no play to interfere with).

ASA 7-1-D; NCAA 9-12 Effect.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote