View Single Post
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 19, 2007, 05:29pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick
10-3
A player shall not:
5. Illegally contact the backcoard or ring by:
(a) placing a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.

The player wasn't looking to prevent injury, he was looking to the ball, methinks.
While the injury prevention question is certainly not conclusive, the rule you now quote is sufficient....I can agree with that.

The only thing I could imagine is that refs didn't see it, they didn't feel an advantage was gained, the personal foul occurred before an advantaged was gained, or that they felt the personal foul sufficiently penalized the situation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote