Thread: baseline
View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 19, 2007, 04:14pm
Don Mueller Don Mueller is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern OH
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3appleshigh
Just out of curiosity, for those who are against what I said about teaching a cather what to do. Picture this play, and give me your calls

BR Bunts along 1st base line runs the entire way to first with his body staddling the foul line. Catcher fields the ball and throws to first:

1. A solid throw hitting the runner between the shoulder blades with runners Left foot on the ground and Right foot in the air.
If either foot is outside the running lane, the runner is considered out of the lane. In the air or not, if the last time the foot was on the ground it was out then I'll consider him out of the lane.
That said, there's still a lot of judgement left.
If F3 has moved to the outside and F2 throws to BR left shoulder blade, it may be judged as throwing at the runner, not interference.
If F3 is on the inside and F2 hits the shoulder, most likely interference.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 3appleshigh
2. A solid throw hitting the runner between the shoulder blades with runners Right foot on the ground and Left foot in the air..
Same as #1

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3appleshigh
3. Steps out toward either Fair or foul and throws a catchable Dart past First baseman into the out field..
If F3 has stepped to the outside and F3 steps outside and BR is inside I have nothing.
If F3 is inside, F2 is inside and BR is inside we have a problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3appleshigh
4. Steps out toward either Fair or foul and throws an uncatchable Dart past First baseman into the out field..
Same as #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3appleshigh
5. Lobs the ball over the runner, and out of the reach of the first baseman.
Fed. casebook says interference

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3appleshigh
6. Lobs the ball over the runner, and within the reach of the first baseman, but he drops it..
Could sell it either way. But probably Interference

If the bunt is right down the line, the proper technique is for F3 to set up on the outside, F2 to step to the outside and make the throw. (assuming catcher is RH, inside setup for LH catcher)
If F3 sets up outside and BR is hedging inside I've got nothing. no matter
If F3 sets up outside and BR hedges outside, now we have a situation.

F2 should never aim for BR. He should be getting in the best position to make a throw to F3, and that position depends on where F3 is setting up, then fire to his glove.

Last edited by Don Mueller; Mon Mar 19, 2007 at 05:27pm.
Reply With Quote