View Single Post
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 19, 2007, 01:23pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomegun
Actually, that isn't true. If the player would NOT have grabbed the rim he would have drifted to the other side of the rim and the offensive player would have had an uncontested layup.

It should have been a T.
While I like the idea of a T on this particular play, I disagree that it should have been one.

While we could see from the replay that he may have drifted away from the other players, he doesn't necessarily know that. The fact that there was a foul when he was still in contact with the rim is all I need to know to not call the T for grabbing the rim...if he was close enough to another player to foul them, they were close enough for him to hang onto the rim for safety.....and it wasn't like he held on for a long time.

Still, I think he deliberately held on to the rim for an advantage...but that is not part of the rule.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote