Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Mueller
R3 cannot retreat back to 2nd in this sitch. He's out for abandonment.
Rule 7.01 Comment: If a runner legally acquires title to a base, and the pitcher assumes his pitching position, the runner may not return to a previously occupied base.
|
The pitcher has not assumed his pitching position ... play is still ongoing.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
|