Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Just this past Thursday I officiated a girls' jr. H.S. DH with a fellow basketball officiating student of mine. He started giving me pycho babble about how most of the guys he officiates with do not use the mechanics fundamentals as outlined in the NFHS Officials Handbook and did not understand why he had to also. In the blarge (which I took away from him, I had a charge; the dribbler made contact with defender right square in the middle of the defender's chest), he was out of position (he had not gone ball side as the lead) and I took the drive to the basket as the trail.
|
I know I'm picking at nits here, Mark, but you were upset that your partner wasn't using proper mechanics, but then you (knowingly, it seems) administered the blarge incorrectly.
I know none of us
wants that situation in one of our games, but when it happens, NF rules dictate that we administer both fouls and go to the arrow. Your partner's positioning shouldn't overrule correct administration of the rules, should it?
Chuck